RootAuditEnterprise / API Access

Commercial Device & Regimen Audit Index

Module 3 — Objective Evidence, FDA Clearances & Claim Verification

Category
Regulatory

Showing 6 of 6 audited entries · 3 carry no FDA clearance for hair loss.

iRestore · Laser cap

iRestore Professional Laser Cap

FDA 510(k) ClearedManufacturer-Funded Study
Claim vs. evidence audit notes3 of 3 qualified or unsupported
  • !Vendor claim6-month clinical trial: 43% density increase
    Audit noteFigure originates from a manufacturer-funded study. Sample size, control arm and full protocol are not published in a peer-reviewed journal, so the effect size cannot be independently checked.
  • !Vendor claimFDA 510(k)-cleared Class II device
    Audit noteClearance is verifiable and genuine, but 510(k) denotes substantial equivalence to a predicate device for safety. It is not an FDA finding of efficacy, and vendors routinely present it as though it were.
  • !Vendor claim282 laser diodes — 650 nm wavelength
    Audit noteDiode count is a hardware specification, not a dose. Irradiance delivered at the scalp — the variable that determines outcome — is not disclosed.
Est. retail$799282 diodes · 650 nm
External Manufacturer Details ↗
Kiierr · Laser cap

Kiierr 272 Premier Laser Cap

FDA 510(k) ClearedManufacturer-Funded Study
Claim vs. evidence audit notes2 of 3 qualified or unsupported
  • !Vendor claimFDA-cleared for men and women
    Audit noteClearance covers device safety and equivalence. It carries no comparative efficacy data between sexes, and none has been published for this device.
  • ×Vendor claimIncludes 7-month growth guarantee
    Audit noteA refund policy is a commercial term, not clinical evidence. It is presented alongside efficacy claims in vendor marketing.
  • ✓Vendor claim30-min session, 3× / week protocol
    Audit noteDosing schedule is consistent with published low-level laser therapy regimens. Real-world adherence — the main determinant of outcome — is not reported.
Est. retail$595272 diodes · 650 nm
External Manufacturer Details ↗
Joovv · Red light

Joovv Go 2.0 Portable Panel

No FDA Clearance — Wellness Only
Claim vs. evidence audit notes2 of 3 qualified or unsupported
  • ✓Vendor claimNo FDA hair-loss clearance (wellness use)
    Audit noteDisclosure verified. The vendor states the regulatory position plainly rather than implying clearance — the correct behaviour, and worth crediting.
  • ×Vendor claimEmerging evidence for follicle stimulation
    Audit noteCited evidence comes from general photobiomodulation literature, not from scalp trials of this panel. No hair-loss study of this device was located.
  • !Vendor claimDual 660 nm red + 850 nm NIR output
    Audit noteWavelengths are plausible for photobiomodulation, but no scalp-specific dosing protocol is published for this product.
Est. retail$295660 nm red + 850 nm NIR
External Manufacturer Details ↗
PlatinumLED · Red light

BIOMAX 900 Clinical Panel

No FDA Clearance — Wellness Only
Claim vs. evidence audit notes3 of 3 qualified or unsupported
  • ×Vendor claimUsed in trichology clinics for scalp prep
    Audit noteClinic usage is an anecdotal marketing claim. It evidences adoption, not efficacy, and no outcome data accompanies it.
  • !Vendor claim0 EMF flicker at therapeutic distances
    Audit noteSelf-reported measurement. No independent test report is published, and "therapeutic distance" is not defined in the specification.
  • !Vendor claim900 LEDs — 5-wavelength spectrum
    Audit noteAccurate as a hardware count. Higher LED counts raise total output, not necessarily therapeutic dose delivered to the scalp.
Est. retail$449630/660/810/830/850 nm
External Manufacturer Details ↗
Hims · DHT blocker

Hims Finasteride 1 mg (Rx)

FDA-Approved DrugPeer-Reviewed Study
Claim vs. evidence audit notes2 of 3 qualified or unsupported
  • ✓Vendor claimPhase III: 83% halted loss at 2 years
    Audit noteConsistent with the published finasteride trial record. The result belongs to the molecule and applies to any 1 mg generic — it is not a property of this vendor.
  • !Vendor claimInhibits Type II 5α-reductase (−70% scalp DHT)
    Audit noteSupported by established pharmacology. Sexual side effects and post-finasteride reports are not disclosed alongside this figure in vendor copy.
  • ×Vendor claimAsync physician consult — ships discreetly
    Audit noteA fulfilment convenience, not a clinical differentiator. The prescribing model has no bearing on efficacy.
Est. retail$301 mg / day oral
External Manufacturer Details ↗
Life Extension · DHT blocker

Saw Palmetto 320 mg Softgels

Dietary Supplement — Not FDA Evaluated
Claim vs. evidence audit notes2 of 3 qualified or unsupported
  • ✓Vendor claimLimited RCT evidence vs. finasteride
    Audit noteDisclosure verified. The vendor acknowledges the weaker evidence base rather than implying equivalence.
  • !Vendor claimMild 5α-reductase inhibition (Type I & II)
    Audit noteDemonstrated in vitro and in small trials, but effect size is far below finasteride and trials are short with few participants.
  • !Vendor claimStandardised 85–95% fatty acid extract
    Audit noteA manufacturing claim. Supplements are not FDA-verified for content or potency, so standardisation rests on the manufacturer’s own testing.
Est. retail$18320 mg / day
External Manufacturer Details ↗

Independence statement — RootAudit sells nothing, holds no inventory, and receives no commission, sponsorship, or placement fee from any manufacturer listed here. Outbound links carry nofollow sponsored noopenerand point to manufacturers' own pages so their claims can be read in full and checked against the audit notes above. FDA 510(k) clearance denotes substantial equivalence to an existing device for safety — it is not a finding of efficacy.